Q and A Amy Valenti

I’m very happy to welcome Amy Valenti as my guest.She will be answering some questions about her exciting (and I’m not just talking about the erotica) recently published novel Dominance and Deception.

 

Welcome, Amy!

Dominance and Deception is a story of kinky love between colleagues, interlaced with betrayals, crime and danger. The protagonists are Faye Tate, a playful forensic scientist, and Detective Zach Pierce, a cop with his fair share of enemies. The story follows the challenges they face as they embark upon a D/s relationship, and when Faye is threatened, Zach has to make some tough choices to save her life.

Q: What and/or who inspired you to create Faye Tate?

She was definitely inspired by Pauley Perrette’s character, Abby, in the TV show NCIS. I’m not going to try and deny that! She might not dress Goth or wear pigtails like Abby does, but there’s a similarity there. Faye also has a mischievous streak a mile wide, which seems to be a feature most of my protagonists share. I’m not into writing super-serious characters – you can only have so much angst before you have to lighten the mood a little!

Q:  Did you enjoy writing the crime plot of Dominance and Deception more, or the BDSM scenes? Or did one follow organically from the other? And if so, what came first?

I followed quite a strange process when I wrote the novel. It was intended to be a series of shorter stories, but my editor talked me into making it a novel, so I had a lot of re-writing to do, especially since it was in present tense originally! But each story was written very much with the BDSM plotline centric. The crime just kind of slotted in around that.

Q:  Would you mind sharing a few of your favourite quotes from Dominance and Deception? 

Not at all! A lot of my favourite bits would spoil the plot, but I’ll try and pick out some of the less spoilery excerpts:

Faye’s phone rang, the unexpected sound disorientating us both. She groaned, scowling at the offending object as if it was sentient.

“Damn it! Not now!” She tugged expectantly at her handcuffs. “Okay, let me out of these.”

I stood there, impassive, and she rolled her eyes.

“Zach, seriously. Someone’s probably dead and we’ll have to go to work.”

I knew she was right, but that didn’t mean I had to like it. Dropping the crop and stepping over the tangle of our clothing, I crossed to the dresser and checked the caller ID. Sure enough, it was Santoro. For a brief moment, I entertained the irrational thought of firing him, but it passed.

Without releasing Faye from her bonds, I hit the speakerphone button to answer the call.

Taking a deep breath to steady her breathing, she spoke. “Santoro, this better be good. I’m a little tied up right now.”

As I stifled a chuckle, Santoro replied, “I know, it’s really late and I’m sorry. But we have a problem. There’s been a triple homicide, and Pierce isn’t answering his cell. His home phone’s off the hook.”

I didn’t remember taking my home phone off the hook, but I’d left my cell phone switched off in the car, which was parked outside Faye’s place.

“He probably let the battery run down again,” she told Santoro. “I’ll stop by his place on the way into work, okay?”

“Are you sure? It’s not out of your way?”

“I’m sure. You get going, and I will handle Pierce.” She winked at me.

“You’re risking an awful lot, here,” I murmured, quietly enough that the cell phone wouldn’t pick it up.

“Relax,” she mouthed back.

“That’d really help,” Santoro said wearily. “Thanks.”

“So what do I tell Pierce when I see him?” Faye asked.

Silently, I sat on the edge of the bed. Faye’s eyes widened, and she shook her head at me, though I could tell her heart wasn’t really in the denial.

As Santoro began to outline the case, his tinny voice just barely audible in the quiet of Faye’s bedroom, I trailed light kisses over her breasts and stomach. When I glanced up, I could see she wasn’t taking in anything Santoro was saying. Her eyes were closed, and a tiny smile tugged at the corners of her lips.

“…Faye?” Santoro’s voice brought us both down to earth.

“Hmmm?” she replied languorously, before shaking herself out of it. “Sorry, what?”

Santoro laughed. “Oh, Jeez… When you say you’re tied up, you really mean that literally, don’t you?”

***

When Pierce walked back in, a towel around his waist and his hair damp and tousled, I purred appreciatively.

He glanced over at me, then did a double-take, eyeing me in the same way I was looking at him.

“Hi.”

“Hey there, detective.”

The shower seemed to have relaxed him a little, and he gave me a slow smile. “Wouldn’t happen to know where all my razors are, by any chance?”

Innocently, I pointed to the top of the dresser, where I’d placed the items in question.        He looked from me to them, and back again. “Go on. I’ll bite.”

“Oh, really?” I walked around him in a seductive circle, looking him up and down. “Then have a seat.”

He sat on the edge of the bed and waited. I decided to leave the towel around his waist for now, and instead picked up the shaving cream from the dresser, sauntered over to him and straddled his waist.

He slid his hands up my stockinged thighs before creeping them around to cradle my ass.

“You can be very strange, you know that?”

I scowled at him. “Did I ask you to speak, detective?”

“Didn’t ask me not to,” he pointed out, and I granted him that with a shrug.

“I’m asking you not to now.”

His eyes wandered downwards from my face in a slow exploration, but he didn’t speak. Satisfied, I got to work with the shaving foam, keeping my touches so deliberate they were almost foreplay.

Once I had finished, I got up from his lap and reached over into my bag for the pièce de résistance of my little scene.

His eyebrows shot up as I flicked open the old-fashioned straight razor, but he kept his silence admirably. I almost called him a ‘good boy’, but he hadn’t been too happy about being addressed that way last time.

“I’ll ask you again, detective. Do you trust me?”

 

Q:  How long did it take you to write your novel? You had it all plotted out, or did you follow where the story and the characters would take you?

Since it was originally a series of short stories, it was a bit of an add-them-all-together endeavour. I first started writing them in 2007, and completed the last one in 2010. Add in the rewrites, and we’re talking the best part of four years! I’m one of those writers who doesn’t do much planning, so I pretty much went wherever the story dragged me. 😉

Q: Would you like to share a little bit about your next project?

Sure! I’m working on a series called Club Alterna at the moment. I have four books planned out, and I’ve just about finished two of them. Each book will follow one fetish club’s patron as they find someone to love, and they’re all mainly based in the club. You can find out more here: http://amyvalenti.wordpress.com/club-alterna-series/

I also have releases coming out throughout the remainder of the year: Battle of Thrills on September 26th, Always the Quiet Ones on October 31st, Of Sawdust and Seduction on December 9th and Shocked on December 19th. You can get up to date news on my blog: http://amyvalenti.wordpress.com/

Dominance and Deception is on sale at Total E-Bound

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Q and A Amy Valenti

  1. Pingback: RELEASE DAY! | Amy Valenti

  2. paigeturnerwrites

    Love love love Dominance and Deception!

    Paige x

  3. Pingback: RELEASE DAY! | Amy Valenti

Leave a Reply

